Jennifer Stewart-US PRESSWIRE

Recapping the 2012 FanSided MLB Awards

Well, baseball awards season is now behind us, and two great electorates have spoken—the BBWAA and the FanSided MLB network. In case you missed the latter, here’s a recap of who won what honors from our esteemed voters.

  • Jim Cowsert-US PRESSWIRE

    AL Rookie of the Year: Mike Trout

On this we agree. Trout was our unanimous choice for the American League’s best freshman, just as he was for the BBWAA. We also agreed on Yoenis Cespedes at No. 2 and Yu Darvish at No. 3. (full results here)

Once again we were in harmony with the BBWAA: Harper, Wade Miley, and Todd Frazier, in that order, though Harper had a far bigger margin from us. (full results here)

The first of our disagreements is here, as Showalter handily beats out Bob Melvin, who eked out a close win in real life. Robin Ventura took home the bronze in both votes. (full results here)

The choice was clear for both electorates, with Johnson coming in ahead of second-place finisher Dusty Baker. We differed in third place, though—we gave it to Mike Matheny, but the BBWAA chose Bruce Bochy. (full results here)

The BBWAA screwed this one up. Our ballot had Verlander with a small but clear lead over David Price for the league’s top pitcher, while the BBWAA had the order (barely) reversed. We also disagreed on the bronze medalist: Felix Hernandez for us, Jered Weaver for the BBWAA. (full results here)

We reached consensus here. Our line went Dickey, Gio Gonzalez, Clayton Kershaw; theirs went Dickey, Kershaw, Gonzalez. Close enough. (full results here)

  • AL MVP: Mike Trout

This is the big one. Sixty-two percent of our voters went with the man of 10 WAR, while 79 percent of the BBWAA voted for Mr. Triple Crown, Miguel Cabrera. I don’t think this argument needs to be rehashed for the umpteenth time here, but please no one try to say that Cabrera is the better fielder. (full results here)

At least we end on a good note. Posey was our NL MVP in the closest vote we had, followed by Ryan Braun, Andrew McCutchen, and Yadier Molina—just like the BBWAA. (full results here)

Whose awards were better?

  • FanSided's (60%, 3 Votes)
  • The BBWAA's (40%, 2 Votes)

Total Voters: 5

Loading ... Loading ...

comments powered by Disqus