Oct 2, 2013; Cleveland, OH, USA; Cleveland Indians manager Terry Francona during batting practice before the American League wild card playoff game against the Tampa Bay Rays at Progressive Field. Mandatory Credit: David Richard-USA TODAY Sports

AL Wild Card Lineups

With a little less than two hours to go before the first pitch between the Cleveland Indians and Tampa Bay Rays, the official lineups for both teams have been released.

The Rays, in typical Joe Maddon fashion, are fielding a lineup significantly different from the one used on Monday against the Rangers. Most notably, David DeJesus will get the start and bat lead off while center fielder Desmond Jennings has been dropped down to the sixth spot. James Loney will play first and bat third, splitting up the right-handed hitting Wil Myers and Evan Longoria. Clearly, Maddon has decided to try to flummox the young Danny Salazar through some lineup trickery.

For the Indians, Terry Francona has decided to go with the lineup that got them here. The only spot that has caused some point of contention among fans today has been the inclusion of Lonnie Chisenhall in the ninth spot and playing third over Mike Aviles. Clearly Francona has opted for the potential offensive fire power that Chisenhall can provide from the left side of the plate against the right-handed throwing Alex Cobb. Also, if we have come to learn anything this year about Terry Francona it is to trust when he has a hunch.

John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

Tampa Bay Rays:

  1. David DeJesus, LA
  2. Wil Myers, RF
  3. James Loney, 1B
  4. Evan Longoria, 3B
  5. Ben Zobrist, 2B
  6. Desmond Jennings, CF
  7. Delmon Young, DH
  8. Yunel Excobar, SS
  9. Jose Molina, C
  • Alex Cobb, Pitcher

David Richard-USA TODAY Sports

Cleveland Indians:

  1. Michael Bourn, CF
  2. Nick Swisher, 1B
  3. Jason Kipnis, 2B
  4. Carlos Santana, DH
  5. Michael Brantley, LF
  6. Ryan Raburn, RF
  7. Asdrubal Cabrera, SS
  8. Yan Gomes, C
  9. Lonnie Chisenhall, 3B
  • Danny Salazar

Umpire Crew:

  • Gerry Davis, Home Plate (crew chief)
  • Ted Barrett
  • Mike Everitt
  • Greg Gibson
  • Phil Cuzzi
  • Brian Knight

First pitch is scheduled for 8:07 PM on TBS. The first pitch forecast calls for partly cloudy and a game time temperature of 69 degrees.

Tags: Cleveland Indians Jor Maddon MLB Tampa Bay Rays Terry Francona Wild Card

comments powered by Disqus