Credit MLB.com

Key Play: Was Carlos Santana’s Path To The Plate Blocked?

Indians Rally Falls Short On Controversial Play

With two out in the bottom of the eighth inning  the Toronto Blue Jays held a slim 5-4 lead over the Cleveland Indians but the Indians had the tying run in Carlos Santana at second base and Yan Gomes at the plate.

Gomes laced a single into left field that Melky Cabrera fielded and threw to the plate. The throw to the plate put Jays catcher Josh Thole right in the basepath of the charging Santana who slid into home to avoid the collision and was called out by home plate umpire Jordan Baker.


Tags: 2014 Cleveland Indians Top Plays Carlos Santana Cleveland Indians Josh Thole Toronto Blue Jays

  • Angelo Zaccheo

    Sorry but this is a homer opinion. Santana slid directly into home plate after viewing 2 camera angles on television. Further, the Indians manager, Francona did not challenge giving credence to the call. It was a critical play in the game and if Francona thought that there was one iota of possibility that the plate was blocked, rest assured that he would have challeged.

    • Matt

      meh, maybe. Then again he has challenged a similar play already this year when the catcher clearly was blocking the plate illegally yet the umps didn’t overturn the call.

      It’s a bad run that is just too hard to enforce. The rule really isn’t much different than the previous rule. Catchers have never been allowed to block the plate without the ball…nor is any fielder allowed to block any base without the ball…

    • Steve Kinsella

      Angelo: No Opinion Given:

      Gomes laced a single into left field that Melky Cabrera fielded and threw to the plate. The throw to the plate put Jays catcher Josh Thole right in the basepath of the charging Santana who slid into home to avoid the collision and was called out by home plate umpire Jordan Baker.

      What is described above is what happened. Francona can not challenge the call….only ask the umpires to review it which they did not.

  • Matt

    I do put blame on Francona here though. Why on God’s Green Earth was Santana even still in the game?! Once he was on 2B he should have been pinch run for by either Ramirez or Morgan. Either would have scored on that hit by Gomes. Plus Ramirez could have remained in the game at 2B and Aviles could have moved to 3B….thus also improving the defense late in the game.

    Absolutely terrible managing right there by Francona.